Movie Monday: Cowboys & Aliens

Here we go. I’ve seen more trailers for this one than any other summer blockbuster, and frankly I was getting tired of seeing the same trailer over and over. I’m glad it’s finally here. I was about to say that I’m sure Rise of the Planet of the Apes will take over as the over-trailered movie, but it opens on Friday, so there’s no chance of that happening. At any rate, I’m looking forward to this one. There have been loads of trailers but not an incredible amount of details about the storyline or the characters that I’ve read so far, which is just the way I like it for movies that I’m anticipating. The less I know about it going in, the better. Plus, the movie isn’t being offered in 3D, which makes me oh so happy. Thank you, Jon Favreau.

As a side note, I’ve been seeing that the reviews for this one have been fairly mixed. However, I pay attention to reviewers only when I’m not entirely sure I want to see a movie, like I did with The Green Lantern earlier this summer. When there’s a movie that I know I want to see, I don’t care if the critics hated it so much that they threw tomatoes at the screen during their viewing. I’m still going to see it. As for the ones that I’m on the fence about, I’m probably going to take the advice that Jeremy offered several weeks ago: “Find a critic who likes the same movies you do, read him or her, and ignore the rest. Professional critics don’t judge on quality anymore. Instead, because they see 1800 movies each year, they look for something new and different, rather than just plain enjoyable.” I need to do that. Find a couple of critics that see movies the way I do and trust their judgment on movies about which I’m on the fence.

My thoughts on Cowboys & Aliens coming your way late tonight or tomorrow. Cheers!

