Movie Mondays

Goodness me it’s been awhile since I’ve written. Hopefully this will serve as a springboard back into it for me. Time will tell.

The Background
I’ve always been a big fan of movies, and the summer movie season is no exception. I haven’t been able to see as many summer movies as I would have liked over the past several years. Law school and all that went with it sort of got in the way, and before that, well, I can’t really say why I didn’t see as many movies during the summer. Let’s just say that each summer I make a list of all the movies I want to see in the theaters, and then I typically will see two or, if I’m lucky, three of them in the theater.

Shifting gears a bit… Every Monday night, my wife and her friends get together for a Supper Club. They get together, one brings a dessert (it used to be dinner too, but it got too complicated), and watch the Bachelor or Bachelorette. Shocking as it may sound, I have no interest in the Bachelorette. Thus, on Monday evenings I am left to my own devices. In the past I’ve just hung out at home, either playing Xbox or reading a book. But it’s summertime now, and this summer is a little different.

I haven’t wrote about it here, but if you’re one of the five people who (used to) read this blog, you already know that my wife is with child. We’re having a Baby Girl, due in October. I am beyond excited. It’s going to be a huge and thrilling change in our lives, and I can’t wait to meet her. Once she arrives, going to movies, especially movies of the type that are released during the summer, will (mostly) be a thing of the past. This is the last summer for quite awhile that I can expect to see movies in the theater with any frequency.

The Project
That brings me to my little project. Last week I took advantage of the free Monday evening to take in the latest installment in the X-Men franchise, X-Men: First Class. I was skeptical about seeing it; I abhorred the third installment and didn’t even see the Wolverine “spinoff.” But, there was a moment fairly early on in the movie where James McAvoy looked up with an arched eyebrow, and he was Professor X. Not Patrick Stewart’s Professor X, but the one I remember from the comic books. It was like they took a frame from the comics I collected and put it in the film, albeit after putting hair on the Professor. In that moment, I thought to myself that I should blog about it. And I hit upon the idea of Movie Mondays. What better way to celebrate the summer movie season, in all its overhyped, overbudgeted glory? I’m not looking for Oscar-worthiness, I’m simply out to enjoy these movies for what they are… Good summer fun.

So, each Monday I’ll try and put up a post telling you what movie I’m going to see, perhaps with a link to a Youtube trailer or something. Then, if all goes well, I’ll try and write about it afterwards. I won’t put any major spoilers in the film or give you a formal review (For some reason, I can’t objectively speak as to how I feel about a movie without seeing it twice). I’ll give you my impressions, things I liked or didn’t like, and whether I recommend it as a Summer Movie. My posts may be wordy or brief, I have no idea. We’ll see.

And who knows, maybe it’ll get me into updating this thing a little more regularly.

