Thankful, Part II

Sorry for the gap in between posts, it’s been a busy week. As we were driving to my family’s Thanksgiving festivities on Thursday, I was struck with how thankful I am. There is so much for which to be thankful. I talked about a lot of the warm ‘n fuzzy stuff last time, but I didn’t cover everything. You see, I am thankful for Practice Court.

Practice Court is grueling. It is not uncommon to get out of class at 3:30 or 4:00 with a 200 page reading assignment about which you have to be ready to speak competently at 7:45 the following morning. Unless your name begins with an “A” and ends with “ndrew Tuegel,” you just don’t have enough time to finish everything and get a full night’s sleep. The professors stand you up, grill you, and if they detect even the slightest hint of uncertainty, they will continue to question until they find your weakness. Once they do, it’s not like they crush you, kick you out, or give you a memo and sit you down, oh no. They expose your weakness for all to see, taking your erroneous conclusion to its end and expose it for the folly that it is. If that’s not enough, throw courtroom exercises on top of and in the midst of all of that other stuff. So yeah, 200 pages of reading a night PLUS preparation for mini-trials is the order of the day in Practice Court.

Most BLS students that have gone through the program despise it. While it’s true that most recognize the value the program has in preparing lawyers for the courtroom, they all swear that if given the chance, they’d never do it again. They think that the PC professors derive some sort of sick pleasure out of deriding their students, and have no purpose to it other than abject humiliation and because it’s the way it’s always been done at Baylor. Some even complain that they were swindled when they visited the law school, complaining that had the truth been told, they wouldn’t have come to Baylor. Again, pretty much everybody wouldn’t go through with it again.

Me? I’m thankful for Practice Court. It was grueling. It was intense. I fell flat on my face more than once. But I also got through it. Each time I fell on my face, I got back up and I worked harder. The pressure was incredible, but I relished the environment. I thrived on the challenge. I went from struggling with self-confidence to knowing that I could take anything. I was fortunate enough to discern early on the professors’ true motivations for their teaching styles, and I appreciated them for it. I saw that they treated us the way that they did to prepare us, so that when our day in the courtroom came, we would be prepared, confident, and ready to tackle whatever the challenge was. They demanded our very best, and it brought out the best in me. I loved it. And now, when asked if I would do it all over again, I answer without the slightest hint of hesitation.

Absolutely.

I am thankful for Practice Court. It taught me how to be a lawyer, and it showed me that I am one.

1 Response to “Thankful, Part II”


  1. 1 will k December 9, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    PC has turned me into a workaholic. I would not be phased by a 90+ hour week or routine humiliation. Good times.


Comments are currently closed.




