Thankful Part I

Someone posted on Facebook or Twitter recently that Thanksgiving was America’s way of celebrating gluttony and violence (my paraphrase). I found it a humorous insight, even if wholly inaccurate from my perspective. Personally, I love Thanksgiving. I love everything about it.

To me, Thanksgiving is a time for family to get together and enjoy one another’s company. It’s a time of reflection, to look back on the past year and recognize the things that we’re thankful for. It’s a time to enjoy some really excellent food and football that may or may not dazzle you. So, yes, there’s food and a little bit of violence involved; but, for me, food and football are nothing without the family that provides the flavor for those two activities. So, that’s the first thing I’m thankful for this season.

I’m thankful for my family. I’m glad that I’m part of a family that enjoys each others’ company and can stand to be in the same room as one another for longer than a couple of hours. We laugh together. We remember Thanksgivings past and the funny things that happened. We share inside jokes. We genuinely like each other. I’m thankful for this because I realize that not many families are like this. While we’re not unique, we may be in the minority. I love my parents, my brother and my sister; I love my in-laws. I think that’s probably pretty rare, and it makes for a fantastic holiday season.

Yesterday at the table I said that I was thankful that I don’t have any reading due for Monday. I said it for the laugh, but it’s true. I have my diploma. I’m thankful that I’m done with law school, I’m back under my own roof with my beautiful wife, and that reading is no longer required. I’m thankful that I passed the Bar Exam and that I don’t have to sit through another excruciating round of BarBri to prepare for that grueling affair.

I have a job, and for that I am thankful. The job hunting process was not at all what I expected. I thought I would have to pound the pavement, throwing out résumés this way and that, but none of that happened. A fantastic professor of mine sent me an email; a few phone calls and two face-to-face meetings later, I had a job. And I love it. I know that a lot of my classmates are still searching for jobs, and so I am quietly thankful for that with which I have been blessed and pray for my friends that they find the same.

There’s so much more to be thankful for, and I’ll continue tomorrow. God is good. It’s been a good year.

