Friday Funny: Ainsley Hayes

In keeping with the apparent theme of the week, this Friday Funny comes from The West Wing. Ainsley Hayes (played by Emily Proctor) is the Republican who beats Sam Seaborn up on Capitol Beat (if I could find that scene, I’d post it) and is then hired by the White House. This is the scene where Leo offers her a job in the White House Counsel’s Office. It’s a pretty good indication of the character. She made several appearances over a couple of seasons before disappearing until the very last episode or two, and each episode in which she appeared was thoroughly entertaining. Enjoy.

My favorite exchange:
Ainsley: Well then, if you’ll permit me, why was I summoned?
Leo: You have an interesting conversational style, you know that?
Ainsley: It’s a nervous… condition.
Leo: I used to have a nervous condition.
Ainsley: How did yours manifest itself?
Leo: I drank a lot of scotch.
Ainsley: I get sick when I drink too much.
Leo: I get drunk when I drink too much.

