Too Subtle?

If you’ve been following my attempts to post daily on my blog, you saw that the post I wrote on Tuesday was called “This Is My Regular Tuesday Post.” At the bottom, I had what may have appeared to be a somewhat cryptic message about the target of my Tuesday post. In truth, it wasn’t a secret message for one specific person. It was a modification of a quote from The West Wing (Josh Lyman saying that he’s wearing his “regular Tuesday Suit,” which turns out not to be his regular Tuesday Suit. What happened was, I finished up my post, proofed it and was satisfied, so I hit the Publish button. Once I did that I realize I hadn’t actually named the post, so I quickly hit the edit button to come up with a name. The first thing that came to mind was the West Wing quote, so I made that the title. Then, I realized that it might be a little obscure, so I left the hint at the bottom of the post. At least then those of my readers that have seen the West Wing (2 or 3 of the 4 of you) would have another hint about the origins of the title.

My wife read the post, and despite being a fellow West Wing fanatic, she didn’t catch the reference. The first time through, she didn’t think anything of it. I had her read the lines at the bottom of the post again to see if she recognized it. I watched recognition dawn on her face then fade as she realized she’d heard it, but couldn’t place the quote because it had been modified. As soon as I said “Tuesday suit,” she knew exactly where it was from and laughed with me. But, the subtle change was enough to fool her and keep her from recognizing the origin of the quote. Sometimes I wonder if I’m being too subtle, and I’m the only one that recognizes a reference and/or finds it funny.

What about you? Did you recognize the change in the quote? Vote in the poll or comment!

5 Responses to “Too Subtle?”


  1. 1 Brooke November 11, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Point for thinking it sounded a little (slightly? vaguely?) familiar? Dang! I woulda been so proud of myself. Josh Lyman is my favorite.

  2. 2 Brooke November 11, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    PointS. That’s supposed to point*S*!

  3. 3 Jen Lafferty November 11, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    LOVED THE WEST WING – so much so our eldest daughter’s name was taken from one of the characters!!! Did you know that?

  4. 4 pbpope November 11, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Jen – I didn’t know that originally, but Monica told me. Ainsley is a great name. 🙂

  5. 5 Laura November 18, 2010 at 1:08 am

    I got the reference without even reading the post. I laughed when I saw the title.


Comments are currently closed.




