The Deep Breath Before the Plunge

At the beginning of this quarter I wrote about the “light” at the end of the tunnel and the true nature of that light. Well, that light is almost upon me. On Monday I enter the first of my final two quarters of law school and begin the Practice Court experience. I’ve felt like this entire quarter has been overshadowed by what is coming. The past few weeks I’ve felt like I’ve been watching a storm growing on the horizon, knowing that it is coming and doing everything I can to finish the work at hand so that I can be ready for the storm. I finished finals on Tuesday and returned home for a few days of quiet rest. I’m thankful for these past few days, but the rest has been an unsettled one. While I’ve done my best to enjoy the free time that I’ve had, it’s difficult to enjoy it to its fullest when I know what is coming.

Part of it has been a bit of impatience on my part, because even though I’ve had this free time on my hands, I am ready to get on with it, to jump into the reading and establish the routine that will see me through the intensity. It’s the waiting that is difficult, watching time slide by slowly and being unable to do anything but wait, prepare, and hope that I’m ready. Once it does hit, I know I will be thankful for this extra free time that I’ve had, that I got to spend some extra time with the Mrs., and that I was able to enjoy the small things that I’ll lose sight of for a few months. There won’t be much time for anything but reading, eating, and (hopefully) sleeping once it starts.

So it begins… The great battle of our time.

Or maybe I’m being over-dramatic. You think?

