Caroling… Confusion

This afternoon my wife and I went to the grocery store to pick up some things for a party we’re attending. The store’s sound system had Christmas carols playing, specifically It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year. I like the song, but there’s one lyric that stumps me every time I hear it:

There’ll be parties for hosting
Marshmallows for toasting
And caroling out in the snow
There’ll be scary ghost stories
And tales of the glories of
Christmases long, long ago.

Parties…check. Marshmallows…check. Caroling…check. Snow…check. Ghost stories…ch-wait, WHAT? Ghost stories?! Who tells ghost stories at Christmas? Of course, we all know of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol with its ghosts of Christmas, but that isn’t exactly a scary ghost story. I guess I missed the one about Rudolf the Red-nosed Zombie. I didn’t realize that “…all through the house, not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse” was because Santa wiped them all out, even the mice. I guess that Twelve Days of Christmas is really about a stalker sending his subject a lot of really strange gifts, and the Carol of the Bells takes on new meaning when it’s sung by a person in an asylum. Ding, dong, ding, dong…

What about you? Any scary ghost stories find their way into your family’s Christmas traditions?

1 Response to “Caroling… Confusion”


  1. 1 Jessica December 19, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    And what were the “glories” of the “Christmases long long ago”? That time Uncle Milton made it through dinner without unbuttoning his pants?


Comments are currently closed.




