Four of These Things Are Not Like the Others

Today while surfing Netflix I came across this gem of recommendations. Apparently because I liked This is Spinal Tap and Amadeus, I’ll like A Christmas Story, Roxanne, Arthur, and Tootsie. I’m not exactly sure how Amadeus and Spinal Tap relate in the first place, but even assuming that they do, how do you get those four movies? I’m at a loss to explain it.

Normally, I find the Netflix recommendation algorithm to be fairly accurate at predicting my tastes. Who knows, it just may be that Spinal Tap + Amadeus = Me Loving Those Movies. There may be some odd correlation that Neftlix’s sophisticated prediction system has picked up that has eluded me. It’s entirely possible. I mean, I’m pretty sure that I’ve seen Christmas Story and Roxanne and liked both, I just never realized that I liked them because I liked the combination of Amadeus and Spinal Tap. If someone has figured it out, please, enlighten me!

3 Responses to “Four of These Things Are Not Like the Others”


  1. 1 Tapp December 1, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    You apparently like creative re-tellings of fictional characters’ lives and events.

  2. 2 Micah December 1, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Actually, Netflix recently held a contest to help improve its algorithm, so you’re probably right!

  3. 3 pbpope December 2, 2009 at 7:58 am

    I remember reading that. My brother-in-law is an excellent programmer and a huge fan of the algorithm. We encouraged him to participate in the contest. Most of the time, it’s incredibly accurate as to its predictions.

    Tapp – it’s true… I do like fiction.


Comments are currently closed.




