Advertising Antics

I always find it humorous when advertisers try to take a competitor’s advertising success and try to use it against them. I wrote about one of those a little over a year ago in this post. Microsoft continued to push this line of advertising, attempting to show regular folks who say “I’m a PC,” and then attempt to point out some benefit of using a Windows machine. At first blush, I think that the ads are fairly successful. They’re trying to take that label that the Mac ads created and turn it into something positive. The ads are catchy, upbeat, and some even sport a cute little kid making silly animations regarding Windows 7. That’s great, but the problem I see is that they’re still identifying themselves by their opponent’s rival. Apple continues to drive the advertising game in that regard, and Microsoft gets stuck playing catch up.

The latest effort is a knockoff of the ubiquitous “There’s an app for that” iPhone commercials. This one is from Verizon, and is attempting to highlight the difference between the Verizon and AT&T coverage maps. Yep… “There’s a map for that.” To me, these commercials are even lamer than Microsoft’s. With the “I’m a PC” ads, at least Microsoft takes the Apple ad concept and tries to point out why being “a PC” isn’t a bad thing. Verizon’s latest is just a lame hackjob. “There’s a map for that”?! Really? That’s not even differentiation, it’s just ripping off a successful advertising slogan. Don’t get me wrong, I thought they’ve had some incredibly good and humorous commercials (the “dead zone” ads come to mind), but this one is just plain bad.

3 Responses to “Advertising Antics”


  1. 1 Micah October 13, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Uh, Mr. Pope? I made a mistake (read: BIG mistake) when filling out my info (I accidentally put in my last name, which is a big no-no on the Internet). Could you please delete my last post?

    Yeah, don’t forget that whenever you want to check Facebook, play a game, or surf the web, the best thing to do is to look at a coverage map!

  2. 2 pbpope October 13, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    So true. That’s definitely how we should think; “I want to update my Facebook status! What’s my coverage map look like? Will it handle the update?”

  3. 3 sport highlights October 15, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    You made some good points there.


Comments are currently closed.




