Blogger’s Block

I’ve been suffering from a bit of blogger’s block as of recent. For some reason, I haven’t felt like I’ve had anything to say. That’s due to simply having nothing I want to talk about, not being able to formulate a complete thought about what I want to talk about, or just generally being dissatisfied with the way that my thoughts translate into words as I type them out. The latter reason happens often; I find myself typing out about 2/3 of a post, looking back over it, being dissatisfied, then deleting it. It’s a little frustrating, but it might just be me being a perfectionist.

I also seem to have length issues. By the time I complete a thought, I’ve written way more than anyone wants to read, including myself. There have been a few thoughts that merit that kind of a post, but often I should be able to trim it down. That’s the problem with this medium… If it’s not short and sweet, it gets lost. That pushes me towards the “say little, post videos” route. Don’t get me wrong, I love posting videos (and will probably post one later on), but that shouldn’t be the default post.

And now for my third problem… I sometimes have no idea how to end posts. I always hated the conclusion when writing formal papers, and I guess that translates over into blogging. The conclusion is supposed to be that neat little bow on your writing package, but it always seems contrived to me. And, I’ve never been very good at tying bows on packages. They always look funny.

Any thoughts/suggestions?

2 Responses to “Blogger’s Block”


  1. 1 Brian September 17, 2009 at 10:56 am

    To your second problem (length-I have the same problem). I’ve found that if I have an idea that is just taking to many words I will break the post up into several parts to post separately. Not only will this shorten your post it will also give people a reason to come back and read the rest.

    It was great to find your blog. Keep writing. And keep your drafts. They may just turn into a great post later on.

    Brian

  2. 2 Jeremy Masten October 11, 2009 at 10:52 am

    My conclusion solution: some weak attempt at wit, e.g., “That is all.” or “That’s right. I’m entering The Dead Zone.” or “Thank you and goodnight.” I doubt they’re very effective, but I enjoy writing them and trying to come up with new ones.

    I find myself having the most to write about when I have the most non-blogging things to do. Finals time was always a very fertile period for me.


Comments are currently closed.




