Road Trip Randomness

I’ve seen some interesting things while traversing the distance between Waco and The Woodlands. Generally it just involves nice scenery (I like the trip, which is a good thing considering the frequency with which I make it), but occasionally I’ll see something particularly unusual. This past weekend was one of those occasions.

More after the break.

I came across the first unusual item as I was entering the town of mart. Propped up against a street sign was a large piece of plywood with the word “BUBBAFEST” spray painted on it in neon orange with an arrow pointing down a side street. I’d never seen the sign before, and I had no idea what Bubbafest is. A friend taking the same route saw the sign the next day, and so I did some investigation. Apparently Bubbafest is a yearly event held in the town of Mart that celebrates the first weekend of dove season. It was started by a group of lifelong friends that resolved to get together yearly to go dove hunting and to catch up with each other’s lives. The event morphed into a festival of sorts, complete with music and all the fun stuff that goes along with that. Pretty cool, if you ask me.

ac-vanThe second random thing I saw I still have no explanation for. As I pulled onto I-45 South, a full-size van passed me in the left-hand lane. One of the back windows had been knocked out, and in its place sat a window unit air conditioner. That’s right, the kind you see in house windows. It was the most bizarre thing that I have seen on the road for quite some time. I didn’t get the chance to snap a picture of it, but this picture is what it looked like. I have no idea what that is all about. Does their van not have A/C, but they (understandably) can’t go without air conditioning? Is it some sort of drug thing? I have no idea. Whatever the reason behind it, it made me turn and watch it go by.

