Weeping and Gnashing of Teeth

Not quite of biblical proportions. In fact, in the grand scheme of things, it’s really quite minor. But yesterday was NOT a good day for me. At all. While at a conference a few weeks ago my wife won a 42″ LCD TV, which was extremely exciting because we never win anything in raffles or the like. Last week, we get the word that it’s being shipped out, and follow the tracking of the package online. We learned that it was slated to arrive yesterday, so I took the day off to accept the TV, get it set up, and do some other stuff that we’d been needing to take care of. My first indication that something was amiss should have been when I noticed a tear in the front portion of the box.

More after the jump.

It looked like something had punched through the cardboard and left the cardboard itself intact but crumpled up. It looked like someone had smoothed it back into place as best they could. I didn’t give it much thought, though, until later.

While unpacking the TV, I also noticed that one of the Styrofoam pieces used to hold the television in place was cracked. It wasn’t a major problem because the crack didn’t prevent the foam from doing its job, but it was also curious. The real fear and panic began when, after attaching the stand to the base of the TV, I noticed the screen had some strange lines on it. Taking it for dust, I ran a cloth over it to get rid of it, only to discover that it definitely was NOT dust. It made a sort of crinkling noise as I ran my hand over it. That got me into full-on panic mode. I wasted no more time; I plugged it in and turned it on to see what would happen… Behold the result.

Busted TV

If I know TV view screens, which I don’t, I’d say that the LCD panel itself had shattered. You can’t see the spiderweb cracks when the TV isn’t turned on, they only show up when the TV is on. There’s no indication that this is the situation other than the lines near the bottom center of the screen that I described earlier.

Talk about a major downer. We’d been looking forward to this for quite some time. At this point, we don’t know what’s going to happen. We’ve contacted the folks who held the raffle that got us the TV, but there’s no update on what’s going to happen. I don’t know if they had insurance on the shipment or what, but they seemed eager to help out. I guess the moral of the story is always insure your electronics when you send them by FedEx. I’ll post updates as events warrant.

Blerg.

3 Responses to “Weeping and Gnashing of Teeth”


  1. 1 Sara Triana June 16, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    What a disappointment! You win some, you lose some?

  2. 2 pbpope June 16, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    I guess you can look at it that way. I prefer to look at it as a sad commentary on the decline in quality of service by shipping companies. This is the third instance of shipping damage that I’ve heard of in the past three weeks, all with items where you’d think they’d take a little extra care.

  3. 3 clark debonair June 23, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    I recognize that LCD damage well, though mine was self-inflicted with my MacBook. That has a box-puncturing drop written all over it. Cool thing about LCDs is when the underlying “crystal” cracks, the outer shell is typically durable enough to keep those “crinkling” pieces from being wayward shards. Ah, what great memories.

    Sorry for your bad experience with FedEx. UPS has generally been my problem shipping child.


Comments are currently closed.




