Unexpected Brilliance

I love it when something wonderful takes me completely by surprise. This video is just one of those somethings. It reminds me of Paul Potts, the cell phone salesman who blew everybody away on Britain’s Got Talent by singing Nessun Dorma. This is Susan Boyle, singing a song from my favorite musical of all time. Enjoy.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
2 Responses to “Unexpected Brilliance”


  1. 1 Justin T. April 15, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Honestly, I’ve seen about a million people post this now, and it’s good, but in my opinion it’s not nearly as surprising as Paul Potts’ performance of Nessun Dorma. First, I think ND is a superior song to I Dreamed a Dream (although do not mistake that for any sort of negative opinion of Les Mis, which is the greatest story of all time and the best musical ever). Maybe I’m just jaded because there’s already been one rags-to-riches story on this show. It’s good, but it didn’t blow me away like Paul Potts did.

  2. 2 pbpope April 15, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    I Dreamed A Dream is definitely not my favorite song in the musical, but I thought the performance was great. I had chills from the unexpectedness of Paul Potts, but the slightly surprising voice of Susan Boyle combined with it being Les Mis gave me chills also. All in all, I’m happy.


Comments are currently closed.




