The Crowd

This week’s Sunday Reflection by The Razor sparked my own period of reflection. In his post, he talks about the crowd that greeted Jesus as he entered Jerusalem. We call it the Triumphal Entry. There are all sorts of interesting parallels to other similar events in Jewish history, not to mention the fulfillment of prophecy, but what the Razor commented on was the fact that the crowd probably wasn’t just his followers, but people that got caught up in the spirit of the moment.

What struck me from that is that just a few days later, the cries of “Hosannah!” turned to chants of “Crucify him!” I can’t help but think that bystanders and disciples alike were in both crowds, both calling His name in praise and then shouting for his execution. The Razor wonders what it would have been like to be in the first crowd… I wonder if I had been in that crowd, would I have been in the one a few days later? Would I have called out for his execution?

The challenging thought that comes next is that it doesn’t matter. Those who called out for his death, He died for their sins, too.

1 Response to “The Crowd”


  1. 1 Peter Park April 6, 2009 at 2:52 am

    The crown mentality can certainly hurt us.


Comments are currently closed.




