Sleep is for the weak?

sleeplessThat’s what I’m telling myself, anyway. This morning I woke up at 3:15 a.m. and stayed awake. Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve woken up between 3:00 and 3:30 several times. Most of the time I’m able to go back to sleep, but sometimes I’m not. This morning was one such occasion. It’s extremely frustrating, because I’m tired and need the sleep, yet something keeps me “wide awake.” It’s hard to explain. This morning, I was extremely tired, yet my mind started working, and I couldn’t shut it down. I drifted a bit here and there, but by and large, I was awake at 3:15 this morning.

I think that part of it is a by-product of the stress of the past few weeks and the fact that it hasn’t really dissipated with finals ending. The new quarter brings new challenges and pressures. My new classes are interesting, but not necessarily the riveting material I’d like them to be (at least yet, I’m open to the possibility). I’m on the internship hunt. I’m also on the Moot Court partner hunt. Plus, at some point, law review will be announced, and I’ll be looking at attempting to write on. So, there’s a lot on my mind as this quarter starts also. I’m just hoping that over the next few days I either work through the stress or am able to wear myself out enough that I’m too tired to think about things at 3:15 a.m. anymore.

