Get Busy Living, or… What Was It?

A couple of days ago I was talking with a friend that just finished PC (that’s Practice Court if some random soul not from BLS stumbles upon this post), who was telling me about adjusting to life after PC. The quote was, “I totally feel like I’m having to learn how to live again.” While I don’t quite have the grid for understanding what that means on the same scale, in some small way, I can appreciate that.

Yesterday I finished the last final of my fourth quarter. As it turns out, this quarter was the toughest finals season yet. I had Conflict of Laws, Bankruptcy, Remedies, and Con Law. Bankruptcy was the most straightforward and enjoyable, with the others being difficult in their own rights. For the past 2 1/2 weeks I’ve practically lived in the library for 12+ hours a day without much time taken for relaxation. The back half of the finals schedule was more difficult, so the intensity definitely ratcheted up several notches in the second half of the schedule. Con Law was the last final that I had, and I think the exam is summed up pretty well by the word “crazy.” When I finished the exam, I was worn out: physically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually, you name it. It was overwhelming.

And now, over 24 hours after the exam, I still can’t get out of finals mode. I’ve made my way back home, and sit here thinking that I need to be studying for my next exam. I don’t have one, though, at least not until the beginning of May. I just can’t seem to shut my brain down, though. I’m exhausted, but can’t sleep. I can’t relax. I think part of it is the fact that I get no break; classes start Monday, and the outlook, at least on paper, is fairly bleak. Basic Tax & Accounting, Business Organizations, Trusts & Estates, and Secured Transactions. Secured will be interesting because I get to have Prof. K again, and I’m excited about that. Beyond that, though, I face the bleak prospect of finding a Moot Court partner in three days and questions about what to do about the Summer and other major turns. Not very enticing prospects.

So, maybe I’ll just let myself stay in this mode, and carry the intensity over into the next quarter. Yeah, we’ll see how well THAT works.

