C’mon Babe, We’re Gonna Paint The Town… And All That Jazz!

westsidestoryTonight you get a brief insight into how strange I really am. The Blizzard King and I went and played Dodge Ball (an excellent event, well planned and executed by Miss C) with other law students. On the way back to the apartment, we stopped at a light behind someone who was turning right, and had their blinker on. I happened to notice that their blinker very nearly matched the rhythm of the song we were listening to. I found myself to be mildly disappointed.

I find that anytime I’m listening to music and something like that happens, I always secretly hope that it will actually be right on the rhythm of the song, not just very close to it. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen it. I think it ties into the secret wish that life were like a musical. Don’t you think life would be so much more interesting if we occasionally broke into song and dance? I think law students would be much less downtrodden if we occasionally had a group song and dance in the halls. And honestly, I can’t think of a topic that yearns to be set to music more than Remedies or Administration of Estates. And really, who wouldn’t like to see, just once, The Razor, Prof. K, LAPP, and CrimLaw sauntering down the hall while snapping in unison? That, my friends, would be a sight to behold.

It would probably be a bit tricky, though. We’d all have to be on our toes, ready to burst into song at a moment’s notice. And, since everyone’s lives would be set to music, we might run into conflicts. We’d just have to be careful that one number didn’t overlap another. That could have some pretty awful consequences. And we definitely couldn’t burst into song during class, unless led the professor. It would be challenging, but worth it.

I can see it now… Coming soon: Law School Musical!

Bonus: Since I’ve already opened Pandora’s Box, here’s my top 5 favorite musicals (movies and/or stage)
1. Les Misérables
2. The Sound of Music
3. Singin’ In the Rain
4. Cats
5. Chicago

2 Responses to “C’mon Babe, We’re Gonna Paint The Town… And All That Jazz!”


  1. 2 Mom November 19, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    I watched Law School Musical, as Nathan suggested. I’m sure that law school feels like that on some days. But how much more fun if your musical followed some the lines of your favorites!
    You wrote: “We’d all have to be on our toes, ready to burst into song at a moment’s notice. And, since everyone’s lives would be set to music, we might run into conflicts. We’d just have to be careful that one number didn’t overlap another. That could have some pretty awful consequences.” But why couldn’t it just be like “One Day More” in “Les Mis” where each character sings powerfully about his or her own life, all singing at the same time, all fitting together beautifully?
    And why couldn’t singing in class actually BE the lesson: “T, a tort, a legal tort, O, an original document . . .” You can see that I’m not a lawyer-type person . . . just a mom with a crazy imagination!


Comments are currently closed.




