An Historic Night

Tonight the United States elected its first African American President. Congratulations to all that supported him, and congratulations to President-Elect Obama. Godspeed to our next President.

President-Elect Barack Obama

President-Elect Barack Obama

Following is an exerpt from Mr. Scott’s latest post at Running Down a Dream, and it sums up my sentiments perfectly.

In America, you can support someone that you have vehemently disagreed with, you can pray for guidance and wisdom for your former opponent as he now becomes your leader, and you can remain engaged in the process of continuing this experiment we call America instead of choosing the low road of cynicism, defeatism, and enmity.

3 Responses to “An Historic Night”


  1. 1 Chris F November 11, 2008 at 8:58 am

    My wife and I followed the election, and election day, pretty closely. So did a lot of our friends.

    I know, kooky, since we are all Canadians.

    It is definitely historic and internationally at least there is a big ray of sunshine over the good ol’ US of A, where clouds used to be.

    That said, of course, the honeymoon will end and it will be back to running a country and that is what President Elect Obama will be judged by. Will be interesting to watch over the next few years.

    On a side note – I was moved by McCain’s concession speech. For a politician, it was incredibly sincere and thoughtful. To be clear as well – my political views when transferred over to Canadian-ism is slightly left of Democrat but as I learned more and more about McCain during the campaign – regardless of Republican policy, regardless of the mud-slinging ads (both sides, I know) and all the anti-Bush rhetoric associated with McCain, I admire the man. Any man who fights for his country, and long after that is done continues to fight for what he believes in deserves an awful lot of respect. He has mine, and I certainly hope that his efforts and sacrifices garners the same respects of the American people – Democrats and Republicans alike.

    As your friendly neighbor from the north, best of luck unifying the country.

  2. 2 pbpope November 11, 2008 at 9:18 am

    The McCain team ran a horrible campaign. He had to spend the summer months “convincing” those to the right of him that he wasn’t going to trend left of the traditional base. It seemed to me that he was forced to do that, in large part, by conservative “media” (i.e. talk radio). I was frustrated with conservative pundits who kept talking about him having to “convince the base,” instead of going out and being himself. Republicans would have turned out. In my opinion, if he hadn’t had to do that, it would have been a different race… At least, until the economy imploded. 😛

  3. 3 clark November 11, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Peter, I love this header pic. Ever since you changed it to this, I’ve admired it.


Comments are currently closed.




