Strange Ways to Discover Music

It’s funny how much has changed in the past decade or so. It used to be that the only way that I discovered new music was through the radio or from friends. But now, I never listen to the radio anymore, and certainly haven’t found any new music in that manner in ages. I still get great music recommendations from friends, most recently Carbon Leaf and Guster from my PingPong Nemesis, and El Ten Eleven from Miss Alabama (after I recommended Explosions in the Sky to her). But it seems like most of the music I’ve been listening to recently has come from more random sources.

Last Christmas, Sears or JC Penny or some other random store had a commercial featuring a song by The Weepies. It seemed like an odd place to discover new music, but The Mrs. and I were both taken with the band. The more we listened to them the more we enjoyed them, and over the August break, we purchased a couple of albums. Those albums served as the primary soundtrack to our Colorado trip (along with Coldplay’s latest). It’s pretty laid-back stuff, but really worth a listen if you’re into acoustic folk-type stuff.

It’s not an abnormal thing for me to discover music through commercials. the iTunes/iPod commercials have provided me with several new discoveries, including Feist, the Fratellis, and a couple others. But never from a source like a JC Penny’s ad. But hey, I’m not complaining. Good music that isn’t just bubblegum is hard to come by, so I’ll take it any way I can find it.

Most recently, I discovered a new band in the most bizarre fashion yet. Over this past weekend, The Mrs. and I watched the final episode in the excellent Foyle’s War series (I highly recommend this show). I was looking up one of the cast members, Honeysuckle Weeks, on IMDB and instead of finding a photo gallery like I’m used to, I noticed a video at the top of the screen. Apparently a band called The Submarines were fans of the same show, fell in love with the actress’ name, and named their most recent album after her. I watched the video, which contains two performances in it, and fell in love with the band. Apparently, one of their songs actually is the background of the new iPhone 3G commercials, but I didn’t realize that until after I’d already listened to their stuff and fell in love with ’em.

New music has an uncanny ability to lift the spirits. I’m thankful for that.

5 Responses to “Strange Ways to Discover Music”


  1. 1 Chris F October 10, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    check out “garden” by Mirah and “the dance” by Charlotte Martin and let me know what you think.

    Only after that will I reveal what lead me to them!!

  2. 2 pbpope October 13, 2008 at 6:36 am

    I’m going to guess So You Think You Can Dance? Great Songs, by the way.

  3. 3 runekinn October 13, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    last.fm is also a great way of discovering music, here you can, among other things, find music similar to your favorite artists. Here is music similar to The Weepies: http://www.last.fm/music/The+Weepies/+similar

  4. 4 Chris F October 13, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Ha Pope, yeah, you are right. So you think you can dance. Not that, erm, I actually watch it or anything. It just happens to be on sometime.

    So when it just happens to be on I definitely take note of good songs playing. Choreographers (spelling bastardization?) are hip, artistic people, and they seem to pick some really great songs.

  5. 5 pbpope October 13, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    I’ll let you in on a little secret. I love that show. The music is definitely fantastic, and I’ve discovered several new artists from it. I actually thought about doing a post about it as its own source of good music. I might still do that.


Comments are currently closed.




