Sounds of Drums

One of my favorite things about getting to go to football games is the chance to hear the drumline. I played quints in high school, or “tenors,” which are the drums pictured here. I wasn’t fantastic or anything, but I loved it. There was something about producing the beat that the rest of the band marched to, and the cadences played always got your head bobbing and had a sense of fun to them. I didn’t play in college, but I still loved hearing them play. There’s something that connects drumline beats with football (especially high school and college), and for me, that connection is inseparable. Just listen to the ESPN College Gameday commercials, you’ll notice it too. It’s been nice being able to experience that live again, seeing that, up until recently, I haven’t been to a college football game for quite a long time. The Baylor Drumline was a lot of fun to listen to, playing most of the old cadences that I knew, some new ones, and they even did some inventive beats in some of the staple fight songs that made it feel fresh and different.

The one thing I miss, the one cadence that they haven’t played yet, is the cadence they used to play immediately after kickoff. It featured the tenors, playing a riff off of the Lone Ranger theme/William Tell overture. It ended with a crescendo of the entire line playing the same beat. It was my favorite of the cadences that they played. I certainly hope they haven’t gotten rid of it.

At any rate, I had a fantastic time, and am glad that I got the chance to go.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

2 Responses to “Sounds of Drums”


  1. 1 newlawmom September 16, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    You’ve been tagged. Come join 5-blogs-5-bloggers. Check it out at http://newlawmom.wordpress.com/2008/09/16/yes-im-actually-in-blawgville Pass it on


  1. 1 Memories of a former tenor drummer « Karma Drums Trackback on September 15, 2008 at 3:58 pm
Comments are currently closed.




