Fight Then With All Your Might, You Bruins Bold!

Tonight the Mrs., an old college buddy, and I headed out to Floyd Casey Stadium to watch the Bears face off against the Washington State Cougars. The game was originally slated to be tomorrow at 11:30, but Hurricane Ike pushed the game back to tonight, just in case. It was a fantastic game for the Bears. Now, I have no idea how the Cougars are supposed to be, but it didn’t seem like they were that good. Of course, they also ended up having to play the same day they flew into Waco, and that can’t help.

I’m no expert, but I must say that I am very impressed with the Bears’ freshman quarterback, Robert Griffin. Tonight he rushed for over 200 yards, scored two touchdowns and threw for another, setting a school record. While he only passed for 129 yards, he had a few passes dropped that would have increased that total by quite a bit. He’s only a freshman, and I think that with the right talent around him, we could see some great things from him down the road a bit. It makes me cautiously optimistic about the future of Baylor. Of course, the operative word in that sentence is cautious.

I noticed several professors there, including Prof. CrimPro and Prof. CivPro (I think). As we walked to our cars, I walked behind Prof. Razor. I didn’t say hi, though. It was just one of those things, since I haven’t spoken to him in person yet, just indirectly over the blogosphere, and it’s not one of those things that makes sense at the end of a football game. At any rate, he was with his son and Prof. Trusts & Estates, so I didn’t say anything, even though we ended up following them across Franklin by sheer coincidence (I swear I wasn’t following).

I had been debating whether or not to attend the game this evening, and all in all, I’m very glad I made the decision to go. It was well worth the price of admission.

