I’ve Been Going to This High School for Seven and a Half Years! I’m No Dummy!

It’s Friday! What does that mean? Well, nothing special, really. It’s just one of those things that we always get excited about. It’s like a magical word that once uttered, leaves you with a sense of excitement, anticipation, and hope. The drudgery of the week is nearly over, replaced by the sweet carefree bliss of the weekend. Ah, if that were only the case. My weekend looks to be one of travel, books, and Shepardization (well, not really, I’ve done most of my Shepardizing).

I have several thoughts rolling around in my head today, none of which are yet complete enough to be worthy of an independent blog post. One may be coming to that, but I might tease you with it anyhow.

The Middle Finger of WacoFirst up: I’ve added a new blog to the links side, Alico Dreams. I’ve been reading it for awhile through my Google Reader setup (I love the Drop-down RSS feeder link button in Firefox), but realized today that I hadn’t yet added it to my links. It’s a great read. At any rate, the reference is to the tallest building in Waco, which, at one time was the tallest building west of the Mississippi. A quote attributed to Waco native Steve Martin (though also to Bob Hope, and possibly a sham altogether) states that the Alico building stands alone, flipping off the rest of Waco. I hadn’t thought of that in years. Regardless, the blog is excellent, check it out.

Yesterday, the Supreme Court issued its opinion on Boumediene v. Bush, granting habeas corpus rights to detainees designated as “enemy combatants” at Guantanamo bay. Article I § 9 of the Constitution ensures habeas corpus rights: “The Privilege of the Writ of Habeas Corpus shall not be suspended, unless when in Cases of Rebellion or Invasion the public Safety may require it.” Some are trumpeting the decision as a victory of habeas corpus, while others are unhappy with the decision (including President Bush, but that’s no shock to anyone). Even the court was sharply divided, with Boumediene being a 5-4 decision. While it has been my assumption that the Constitution secures the rights of U.S. Citizens only, I’m going to have to do more research on the matter. The opinion is rather lengthy at 134 pages (with Chief Justice Roberts writing a 28-page dissent and Scalia serving up a 25-page dissent), but I suppose I will be reading it in my “breaks” over the next couple of days. If you want to read it, you can download it here (thank you SCOTUS Blog).

I know for certain that I disagree with my associate, WK (another blogger I need to come up with a nickname for, since he can’t be Catfish or Paddles any longer), who in this post lists some quotes from elected officials decrying the ruling, calling them “blowhards” for disagreeing. Sure, some of the comments posted are a bit on the extreme (lawyers accompanying Marine rifle teams? Really?), but at least one of them seems fairly rational, at least given my preconception of the situation mentioned above. In his dissent, Justice Scalia references several detainees released by the military from Guantanamo, including this one that participated in a suicide bombing that killed seven Iraqi security forces. At any rate, my thoughts on the topic aren’t fully developed yet, so I’ll refrain from speaking further on the matter for the time being. It’s a topic I hope to be able to pursue with some free time, if I can find some available.

The Left Wall ScrivenerHave you ever looked at the bricks on the way into the law school, or any other place where they have the “dedication bricks?” Yesterday I was walking into the law school and noticed the brick pictured here. I kept walking into the school, then stopped, turned around, and took a snapshot of it with my camera. It made me wonder who “The Left Wall Scrivener” is. Is it a nickname? Some inside joke that a Baylor Lawyer had with his friends back in school? Something that is so patently obvious that I should know about it already (surely not, even a cursory Google check revealed nothing obvious). I’d like to think that it was a nickname held by a Baylor Lawyer, and anyone who knew this person would see the brick and instantly be transported back to their Law School days, smile, and remember with fondness the blood they shed with “The Left Wall Scrivener” in Practice Court. Each one of those bricks has a history, each one a story to tell. From time to time, as I find one that is interesting, I think I will post about it.

Finally, I’ll leave you with this bit. Wednesday’s title quote was from V For Vendetta, a great movie with some excellent dialogue. The introduction speech from it is classic. I found an interesting “typography” video of it, so I’ll leave you with that for today. Happy Friday!

1 Response to “I’ve Been Going to This High School for Seven and a Half Years! I’m No Dummy!”


  1. 1 top mistakes December 11, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Your site is really interesting to me and your topics are very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of site managers are guilty of these five errors”. http://tinyurl.com/bn4kol9 You will be suprised how simple they are to fix.


Comments are currently closed.




