“From a certain point of view”

In this post, Paddles (or was it Catfish?) parenthetically asks, “[C]an anyone tell me why this quarter is vastly more enjoyable than the last and why it’s … kind of fun?”

Interesting. I think that this has been the general sense of the summer quarter from the perspective of my classmates, but it has not been mine at all. For me, this quarter has been a battle of motivation and perseverance. It’s been about fighting a constant battle against the desire to lay on the couch and watch TV, read a book, or play video games. The strange thing is, it doesn’t have anything to do with my classes. I’ve enjoyed the subject matter generally thus far this quarter, even in the classes that I “know” I most likely won’t practice (I put quotes because I have no idea what I’ll actually end up practicing upon graduation). It’s been an internal struggle, fighting my own desire to kick back and coast. But that just creates in me a greater sense of urgency and stress, something that I didn’t have in the first quarter. I had a sense of urgency, but along with it came a sense of calm, that I was doing everything that I could do to prepare for finals from Day One.

Perhaps that’s part of it. After taking finals and looking at my list of things I did, I had to ask myself, did I do everything? Was there more that could have been done? What if I’m not doing it now? What should I be doing now that I’m not doing? I think that definitely plays into the stress that I’m feeling. Couple that with the uncertainty of the remaining grades, and you’ve got a recipe for being overwhelmed.

As for the question, I think that part of the “fun” is that the pressure to perform in class isn’t quite there like it was last quarter. Partially that’s because there’s less of a demand by the professors, and partially it’s because we are now “experienced law students” and can recite cases well, generally (though I didn’t do so hot today in K).
I think it’s also the style of the professors that we have. Only Prof. K solely uses cases to teach, whereas Prof. CrimLaw and Prof. Property both use an element of lecture in their approach to the material, and appropriately so. Plus, it’s a pretty cool thing to have a member of the Justice League of America as a professor.

1 Response to ““From a certain point of view””


  1. 1 JDavis June 2, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Dude, you did fine in contracts…let’s just say your analysis was much more compelling than that of subsequent co-counsel. Plus, I’m way too inebriated to work this summer, so here’s hoping I coast through finals OK. Can I borrow your outlines?


Comments are currently closed.




