You broke my heart… You broke my heart!

Over the course of this quarter, my roommate (will have to come up with a name for him) has sparked my interest in the beautiful game. Naturally, I’ve taken an interest in the team that he follows… Partly in the interest in keeping the apartment free from strife, partly because they’re a fantastic team to watch, and partly because of an amazing article by Bill Simmons awhile back that helped me make my decision. If you have a few minutes, I highly recommend it. It’s a great overview on the English Premiership (essentially one of the top leagues in the world, if not the top), and helped solidify my fandom.

I have become a Liverpool FC supporter. Through and through, I’m a red.

I have a hard time NOT getting into the teams I support. Just ask anyone that knows of my support of the Stars or the Cowboys; heck, even of my Baylor Bears. I get into it. So, here I am, having been drawn in, tasting the greatness that is Liverpool football, and being devastated by someone who has become the newest man to hate… Didier Drogba. He’s one of those excellent forwards that, anytime someone breathes on him, falls down as though he just lost a leg, then pops right back up once he’s assured his foul. He had an excellent match today against Liverpool. It was utterly heartbreaking.

Drogba

Curses.

Regardless of the heartbreaking loss today, I’ve enjoyed the quarter of getting into football. It’s a strategic, methodical, interesting game. Some may call it boring, but I find it very interesting. Of course, others say that about hockey too, and I cannot see that for the life of me. At any rate, I want to thank my roommate and Scotty (need to come up with a name for him also) for getting me excited about this sport. I’ve had fun watching it, and look forward to enjoying many matches in the future.

(sorry about the mislink!)

3 Responses to “You broke my heart… You broke my heart!”


  1. 1 Justin April 30, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Scotty works, my friend, but it’s “Running DOWN a Dream”, not “Running WITH a Dream”.

    You’ve been forgiven.

  2. 2 pbpope April 30, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Fixed. oops.

  3. 3 catfishandpaddles April 30, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Don’t call it that. This is America, not Hitlerville, and we already have a name for the sport. It’s called Soccer. We already have a sport called football.


Comments are currently closed.




