I need your help. I’m going out to find our friend with the beard.

Beardtastic!(Author’s note: Mr. Running Down a Dream has inspired me. I’m going to try and find quotes from either movies or TV shows relevant to the topic at hand to be my post titles. If someone actually reads the post and guesses the title, I’ll acknowledge their quotation prowess in my next post.)

It’s playoff time. In my opinion, playoff hockey is an unparalleled event in the world of sport. Sure, it lasts about as long as the regular season, but that time is chock full of exciting, suspenseful and agonizing moments. If you want to become a fan of hockey, the playoffs are the best place to start. But, my point today isn’t to extol the joys of playoff hockey. There was a fantastic article in the Dallas Morning News several years ago that talked about the greatness of playoff hockey, I’ll try and dig that up for a later post. This post is all about the beards.

Once the playoffs begin, various players have their own superstitions and rituals that they like to follow. Of course, some superstitions have reached urban legend status, such as not changing underwear or socks throughout the playoffs. But, a little less “celebrated” but a lot more noticeable is the annual “growing of the beard.” Many players cease shaving during the playoffs, growing beards that aren’t the most attractive facial growths you’ve ever seen. One of my personal favorites has always been Ken Daneyko, of the New Jersey Devils. The man could (or couldn’t, depending on your perspective) grow a beard to strike fear into the hearts of any opponent. Check this thing out:

fear the beard

If I think about it, during the course of the playoffs I’ll try and bring you snapshots of some of the more excellent beards of the playoffs. I welcome your beard submissions also.

Some of my fellow 1Qs have recently discussed growing out beards in preparation for finals. I’ve never grown out my beard before, partly because I don’t think I quite have the thickness for it, but mostly because my lovely wife prefers me clean-shaven. I’ve been just fine with that. But, given the fact that finals time is rapidly approaching, I think I might have to partake in some beard-growing, just to see if I can do it. I’ll keep everyone up to date on that, too. Perhaps I’ll post a picture, if the beard is worth it. Who knows? I might not even survive the “itchy” stage, though.

At any rate, I have begun to think of finals as my own personal playoffs. Everything that I’ve done this quarter has been in preparation for this time. None of what happened before matters one bit if I don’t bring my game to a whole new level. Just like a team in the regular season that destroys everyone yet fizzles out in the first round of the playoffs, I could have been the most prepared student during class, but if I’m not prepared for finals, none of it matters. I have a thousand more playoff metaphors and clichés I could toss out there, but I think I’ll stop here: It’s go time.

Bring on the beards.

2 Responses to “I need your help. I’m going out to find our friend with the beard.”


  1. 1 Justin April 17, 2008 at 8:42 am

    Little do you know, Peter, you actually line up to shake hands with the profs at the end of Finals, much like the handshake line at the end of a playoff series.

  2. 2 catfishandpaddles April 27, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Only the most hardcore of us don’t need an excuse to have a beard year-round.


Comments are currently closed.




