Top 5: Most Hated Sports Teams

It’s time for another installment of Top 5; it’s been a long time. This time I bring you my Five Most Hated Teams. These are the teams I love to hate. These are the teams that when a favorite player of mine goes to play for them, I have a hard time ever rooting for them ever again (with one notable exception, see below). When these teams lose, I take delight in the losses, regardless of who deals the loss to them. I invite you to peruse my list, formulate your own, and share it!

1. Detroit Red Wings

http://pbpope.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/redwings.jpgThe Red Army. The Dead Things. The Santa Suits. Call them whatever you want. I hate them. Maybe it’s the fact that before the NHL instituted a salary cap, they had virtually unlimited funds with which to sign players. Maybe it’s the fact that they always are in contention to win the Stanley Cup. Whatever the reason, though, they’ve been the team that I’ve hated for the longest and the most. While they might not be my Stars’ arch-nemesis anymore, I still hate them with a fiery, burning passion. For some reason I think they have the most intimidating uniforms in all of sport. The full-red look just unnerves me. Plus, anytime they travel their fans come out of the woodwork in support. They have the largest contingent of away fans of any hockey team, I’d wager. It’s frustrating. Have I mentioned that they ALWAYS win? It’s obnoxious.

2. Manchester United

I hate Man U. Eighteen months ago, this team probably wouldn’t have even cracked my Top 5, though it might have. But, as you know, I’ve gotten into soccer in a big way as a Liverpool supporter, and I’ve quickly become acquainted with the Evil Empire and the evil that they stand for. Up until recently, I had trouble deciding whether they were #2 or #3, but recent developments lead me to conclude that they are indeed #2. If they keep it up, they may just challenge the Wings for the title of Most Hated. Why do I hate them? They are what the Yankees were in the late ’90s. Free spenders who always win. Always. What’s more, they’re pretty-boy prima donnas that will fall to the ground clutching appendages if you breathe on them or look at them the wrong way. Their star, Ronaldo, could miss a wide-open shot on a break, then turn around and blame a teammate for the miss. It’s never his own fault. Their only redeeming quality – their coach, Sir Alex Ferguson, is a snappy dresser. But even he’s impossible to like.

3. New York Yankees

yankees_logoThe “original” evil empire. Vast resources to spend, and spend them they have. They’ve dropped in my rankings due to the fact that they haven’t won it all in awhile, but they remain my most reviled team in baseball. Large amounts of fans at away games. The fact that the Rangers can’t seem to win a series against them. They spend ridiculous amounts of money. Did I mention their fans are annoying? The reasons to hate the Yankees are well-documented and prolific. You all know them.

Those three round out the Axis of Sports Evil. No question. The last two are much harder for me to pin down. Hence the reason there’s a tie for #4.

4. Philadelphia Eagles/Washington Redskins

philadelphia-eagles-logo These two teams seem to function as a combined arch-nemesis of the Dallas Cowboys, who are my team and have been since the womb. Though there was a brief stint in the early/mid ’90s where the 49’ers were the arch nemesis of the Boys in Blue, the long term rivalries of the Redskins and the Eagles outpace the 49’ers. Plus, the Niners have a Baylor grad at the helm now; plus they just can’t seem to win. Rarely are both the Eagles and the Skins a formidable opponent, hence the reason they share the Number Four spot on the list.

5. Los Angeles Lakers

Lakers LogoAnd… The Lakers. The hatred of this team really stems mostly from a hatred of Kobe Bryant, but whatever. They’re #5. They’re sort of the Wings/ManU/Yankees of basketball, I guess. Given that I don’t care for NBA basketball all that much, my hatred of this team is tempered to a slow simmer. But it’s there.

So there you have it… My Top Five Most Hated Sports Teams. What’s yours?

There

5 Responses to “Top 5: Most Hated Sports Teams”


  1. 1 Cynthia June 4, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Oh Yeah Let’s go Lakers ( clap) (clap) (clap) (clap)

  2. 2 Justin T. June 4, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    While I don’t disagree with any of these teams (though I don’t follow any sport but football), I guarantee you that if you ever spent any significant amount of time in New England, your list would read 1. The Boston Red Sox, 2. The New England Patriots, 3. The Boston Celtics, and 4. The Boston Bruins. Boston sports fans are the worst, especially when their teams are experiencing any sort of success. In 2007 when the Red Sox and the Patriots were both doing well, you’d think they had cured cancer, ended global warming, and walked on Mars the way Boston fans were talking about them.

  3. 3 HAiL!!! June 5, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    haaaaaaa, your beloved Cowgirls went .500 against the Iggles and Skins last year, not to mention, we swept the Iggles. The exact same thing happened in 2007, and almost happend in 2006, but the Iggles swept you, leaving you with one win against both teams. In 2005 we spept you and the Iggles got a win. So if you definition of formidable is average to poor, you nailed it on the head. Just like a Cowgril to dwell in the past.

  4. 4 pbpope June 5, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    That’s funny, I fail to see any dwelling in the past in my post. I see commentary about my most hated teams.

  5. 5 Justin June 5, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Peter, you already know my feelings about the English Evil Empire and the Yanks, so instead, I’ll tell you the harrowing tale of my friend Luke Reeves, who is somehow a fan of the Yankees, the Lakers, and Duke Basketball. I’m sure he’s also a fan of smashing kittens and curdled milk, but I just don’t have any evidence of those yet.


Comments are currently closed.